Working to Phase Out Weed

Hi everyone,

I’m not exactly sure what to say, but I wanted to at least say Hello to everyone here. I was very happy to find a support community that exists outside of social media.

I’ve been smoking weed daily for around 20 years, and have wanted to quit for quite a while. For a long time it was hard to talk about this with anyone, because whenever I did I was often told “you can’t get addicted to weed.” So I thought there was something inherently wrong with me. Now I know that not only can one get addicted, but I am very much addicted to it.

Last year I managed to quit for 7 months after going off cold turkey. It was amazing. I felt great, and there were times when I never thought about weed. But, it crept back into my life as the winter months approached and the SAD set in. Since then, I’ve rebounded back to my usual usage 2-3 joints per day (more on weekends usually).

It’s now at a point where it interferes with everything in my life, and like someone else said in another post, I feel like I’m the passenger seat of my life. I think of it the moment I wake up and plan my day around my usage. A lot of things I put aside because I can’t do them when I’m high.

But as I approach mid life, I want to make space for other activities that I enjoy but don’t do because my weed habit interferes with my ability to do them. Cold turkey quitting was extremely hard for me to do, and I give so many high fives to everyone who has managed this way. So hard! In an attempt to maintain some sanity, I have a plan to cut down to nothing over the next month. I’m posting this information here to keep me accountable.

Looking forward to reading everyone’s experiences and and encouragements. Let’s get sober!

2 Likes