Quitting again, please wish me luck

I’m quitting again, so I thought I would try posting my story here, to see if that helps this time. I’m 50 and I’ve been smoking almost continuously for 30 years. The longest I stopped was for about a year, but I’ve stopped many times for weeks or months at a time.

I don’t know anyone who smokes/eats/vapes as much as me. For example, this Saturday I ate ~100mg, which is a lot, but my tolerance is so high right now it didn’t feel like that much. I can smoke a gram or two a day easily. If I have weed in my possession it’s pretty much guaranteed I’m stoned. But I’m a high functioning stoner and I’ve never had any major career or family problems because of my habit.

I’ve suffered from chronic depression my whole life, and when I discovered weed it was the first time I felt relief. I know now it can make depression worse, but it also got me through some difficult times I’m not sure I would have gotten through otherwise. But while it can relieve acute symptoms, it can also make things worse, I do understand this. I’m on a real antidepressant now, which does work, but it doesn’t make be feel happy the way weed can, so I still can’t seem to quit.

I know I can stop for a month or two. I’ll get strong withdrawal symptoms, but I’ve been through that enough times that I know I can do it. The problem is quitting completely. Once the withdrawal symptoms have subsided, my habitual cravings kick in, and I give in. I’m hoping this time will be different, I really do want to quit completely. I was able to quit smoking and I never think about that, but somehow this is much harder for me.

Anyway, that’s all for tonight. This was my first day sober, so far so good. I will try to post occasional updates. Thanks for reading and good luck to you on your journey!

4 Likes

Thank you for sharing your story - really hope to hear more!!

Hi Marmalade!!